knitting

Test Knitting

I just wanted to share how much fun I’m having test knitting a sweater.  If you’re not already familiar, “test knitting” means that I’m knitting a pattern that hasn’t been published yet.  I, along with a group of others, am essentially finding the bugs in the pattern so that it can be published without any bugs.  It’s been a lot of fun so far, and I’m about 50% of the way through now.

The deadline is July 10th, so it was sort of bold of me to sign up to knit an entire, adult-sized sweater in a month, but I did believe I could do it, and so far I’m tracking to prove myself right!  This sweater is knit in the round up to the sleeves, and then you separate the front and the back.  I’m currently about halfway through the back, and then I’ll move to the front, sleeves, and neck.  I’m onto my third skein of yarn out of an expected six.  The boring part, the 12″ of stockinette in the body, took the longest, mostly because it was boring, but that’s behind me now and it’s been smooth sailing ever since!

I’ll publish a more detailed piece after the pattern has been published, and include loads of pretty pictures then.  In the meanwhile, just know that I’m hoping to do more test knitting in the future, so let me know if you need someone!

Leave a Reply

